A fortune cookie slip

Get a life.  And then write about it. What'd you last do on the project? What'd you last do on the project? Dude, you are *so* clueless.  I have to tell you all about your cluelessness. Get a life.  And then write about it. Get a life.  And then write about it. Get a life.  And then write about it. I've got to get out of here.  Can you send me somewhere else? I feel compelled to read more, but all there is old stuff. Diaryland is da bomb Current | Archives | Contact Me
Related Links | My Personal Journal | Diaryland


�Not my idea of a good time�
2004-05-18, 10:00:00
:


I have posted here about my worries about my hard drives and the fate of my data in case of a crash. I even went to Fry's to get a 200 gig drive for cheap so that I could ensure my data's survival.

Little did I know that the drive failure would be here at work.


I came in Monday morning to a workstation that told me:

Primary hard disk 0 not found.

I bounced the power and it ran again. I tried to ignore it, but it was wishful thinking. By the end of the day it was hanging regularly and I was doing my best to recover my data from the drive.

I figure a good two days getting my machine whipped back into shape; I've been doing this for hours and I'm still applying patches to WinXP Pro. How is this being productive?


The moral here is that I need to put a premium on backups. I need a strategy! What's a good way to back up desktops and small server installations?



2013-03-01

Suckage

2007-01-09

Want to connect to MSN with PHP?

2005-04-11

AtoZed Software's Indy installer *sucks*

2005-01-10

Another thing I don't like about Altiris

2004-10-25

One of the (many) joys of having your own server


Search this site: