A fortune cookie slip

Get a life.  And then write about it. What'd you last do on the project? What'd you last do on the project? Dude, you are *so* clueless.  I have to tell you all about your cluelessness. Get a life.  And then write about it. Get a life.  And then write about it. Get a life.  And then write about it. I've got to get out of here.  Can you send me somewhere else? I feel compelled to read more, but all there is old stuff. Diaryland is da bomb Current | Archives | Contact Me
Related Links | My Personal Journal | Diaryland


�Woe to those seeking a reliable web host�
2000-02-29, 12:00:00
:


First off, I'm trying to pick a web host. Recommendations are welcome.


Right now I have restlessmind.com parked with Dreamhost. Basically, they give me name servers for my domain, and bounce email off their domain to me or whoever I want.

Why did I originally pick Dreamhost? Well, that's a good question. I was looking around originally, and I thought the parking for Dreamhost wasn't too outrageous and I just wanted to use email for the time being, so I parked. I always intended to host up with them, but that became a problem when I started thinking about what I really wanted to do with my domain, and looked at how much Dreamhost really costs once you want to do CGI and database access (not to mention all the complaints lately about database access being broken at Dreamhost for some people).

It's a staggering amount (I figure I should just go for the $45 per month package for the space I'd need and the things I want to do). Thus, I've looked around a bit.


First, Kathy from daysies.nu suggested I check out her host, Superuser Networks, and I did. Well, originally I sent them email asking them a bunch of questions, and they never answered them. I wasn't a happy camper.

Finally, I figured I would call them. That seemed to work much better, but I found out that they don't have php installed yet. They told me that I should call them back in a couple weeks to find out when they have it installed. Fair enough. Of course, now, every time I call, they're not there (I guess they close at 5:00 PM their time).

So... I can't check to see if they're using php3 or php4, and if it's compiled as an Apache module or as a CGI. Also, I want to know if they're running mysql on the web server, or on a machine dedicated to SQL. (Well, he told me the other day they offer mysql rather than just msql.)

Anyway, eventually I started to check around a little more, but I am still leaning their way because their price is right.


I started checking out World Web Server based on a couple recommendations I saw while doing some searches.

Their price is good for me (I am looking specifically at their professional option) and their connectivity seems fast here at work over the T1 (whereas Dreamhost's was stalled out for a moment, although that's an iffy test at best). They seem to be updating their site a little bit, because I noticed some inconsistencies here and there, and I wrote them about them, but they haven't written me back regarding my queries, either (although I sent them to [email protected], so maybe they won't answer such questions from that address. I will try to send it to them again through their new feedback interface tonight when I get home).


I contacted 1-2-3 HostMe! about their services (specifically the Level 1.1 plan that they offer).

Well, I originally contacted them because their prices aren't outrageous, but everything I asked them about for additional services, like personal subdomains (a DNS setting and then a setting for the webserver, nothing major) or a mailing list manager, they charged ridiculous setup and recurring costs, so that turned me off right away.

And, so, I looked further.


I looked into Communitech.net, too, because they offer quite a bit of services, and it was for a pretty good price. (They recently raised their prices and divided their accounts into different levels, which makes me a little upset; I don't really want to go to $40.00 a month for web hosting for a single domain!)

They have a wonderful list of services, and they offer quite a bit, but when I used to snoop at their members-only message boards I realized that they have quite a few problems with overtaxed servers. (Recently they made their demo account unable to access their message boards, so I feel like they have something they want to hide, they don't want potential customers to get the inside scoop anymore, I guess.)

That, coupled with the secretive attitude, has really turned me off.


Does anybody have any other suggestions?



2013-03-01

Suckage

2007-01-09

Want to connect to MSN with PHP?

2005-04-11

AtoZed Software's Indy installer *sucks*

2005-01-10

Another thing I don't like about Altiris

2004-10-25

One of the (many) joys of having your own server


Search this site: