A fortune cookie slip

Get a life.  And then write about it. What'd you last do on the project? What'd you last do on the project? Dude, you are *so* clueless.  I have to tell you all about your cluelessness. Get a life.  And then write about it. Get a life.  And then write about it. Get a life.  And then write about it. I've got to get out of here.  Can you send me somewhere else? I feel compelled to read more, but all there is old stuff. Diaryland is da bomb Current | Archives | Contact Me
Related Links | My Personal Journal | Diaryland


�Introduction�
At the start, he wrote
:


The day before Thanksgiving, 1999, I was at Pep Boys getting two tires for my car. This was an experience I never want to relive, because they are deathly slow.

I kind of figured, day before a major national holiday and all that, they'd be pretty slow, so I took a pad of paper and a pen so that I could write while I was waiting. Granted, I'd been up the whole night before, so I was tired and rambling in my writings, but I outlined an interesting idea.

I had been keeping a Diaryland journal for a little while already, and I noted to myself that such a web-based system would have other uses than keeping a simple diary for a number of people.

I mean, think about it - you can do templates for a basic layout, but then within the main entry space you can add in whatever you want: images, text boxes, lists of information, what have you. You can incorporate full stylesheets. You can do about anything, except some javascript (although you can just put it in an external file and link it), and server-side programming (although if you ran your own equivalent to Diaryland, you could do whatever you damned well pleased).

All entries are kept in chronological order, you can title them for easy reference, and it's set up to take either more complex data, like pre-written, HTML-formatted pages, or you can simply go in, dash off a one-off note that will have markup pairs put around it automagically.

This is almost ideal for as-you-write software documentation.


So here I am, ready to set off on a new project, getting my personal domain, restlessmind.com, off the ground, so I'm going to give the idea a try.

It should serve multiple purposes. First, I think it will be nice just to keep a running record of what works, what doesn't, what I considered, so that next time around I can do better. Improvement, regardless of where you're at currently, should always be something you strive for.

Next, I would like potential employers to see my thought processes as I design. They may seem "messy" and "informal," but if everybody's minds aren't messy and informal then I'll be shocked, personally.

Lastly, anybody who follows along may pick up something here or there. I won't guarantee it, but it's always possible. (Alternately, maybe they can suggest something. Suggestions are always welcome.)

And on with the Herculean task.



2013-03-01

Suckage

2007-01-09

Want to connect to MSN with PHP?

2005-04-11

AtoZed Software's Indy installer *sucks*

2005-01-10

Another thing I don't like about Altiris

2004-10-25

One of the (many) joys of having your own server


Search this site: